Friday, February 01, 2013

PlayGround Announces 2013 Gala Honorees!

PlayGround has just announced the line-up for this year’s Gala fundraiser on Monday, April 1 at American Conservatory Theater: 2009 Pulitzer Prize winner Lynn Nottage (Honoree), Lorraine Hansberry Theatre Artistic Director and former A.C.T. core company member Steven Anthony Jones (Master of Ceremonies) and Director Jonathan Moscone (Honorary Chair). The evening features an onstage conversation with Nottage and Jones, a reception and silent auction, seated dinner, and presentation of the 2013 PlayGround Emerging Playwright Awards, June Anne Baker Prize and Fellowship. The Host Committee for this year’s gala includes past honorees Amy Freed, Philip Kan Gotanda, Peter Sinn Nachtrieb, Bruce Norris, Carey Perloff, Octavio Solis and Tony Taccone. Honorary Committee members include: Joy & Jerry Carlin; Daniel E. Cohn & Lynn Brinton; Delia Ehrlich; Carole & Ted Krumland; Fred Levin & Nancy Livingston; Marjorie Randolph; Patti & Rusty Rueff; Jean & Michael Strunsky; and Deborah Taylor. Tickets:

Lynn Nottage’s new play, By The Way, Meet Vera Stark, enjoyed an extended run Off-Broadway at Second Stage Theatre (Lily Award, Drama Desk Nomination).  It can be seen this upcoming season at Lyric Stage and Goodman Theatre.  Her Pulitzer Prize-winning play Ruined premiered at Manhattan Theatre Club and Goodman Theatre (OBIE, Lucille Lortel, New York Drama Critics’ Circle, Audelco, Drama Desk, and Outer Critics Circle Award for Best Play).  It subsequently toured widely throughout US regional theatres, including a production at Berkeley Rep in 2011, and premiered internationally at the Almeida Theatre in London. The play has since been produced in countries throughout the world, including Cambodia, Chad, The Caribbean, The Democratic Republic of Congo, and Germany.  Her other plays include Intimate Apparel (American Theatre Critics and New York Drama Critics’ Circle Awards for Best Play); Fabulation, or The Re-Education of Undine (OBIE Award); Crumbs from the Table of Joy; Las Meninas; Mud, River, Stone; Por’knockers and POOF!. 

Nottage is the recipient of the 2010 Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award, the Dramatists Guild Hull-Warriner Award, the inaugural Horton Foote Prize for Outstanding New American Play (Ruined), Helen Hayes Award (Ruined), the Lee Reynolds Award, and the Jewish World Watch iWitness Award. Her other honors include the 2007 MacArthur Foundation “Genius Grant,” the National Black Theatre Festival’s August Wilson Playwriting Award, the 2005 Guggenheim Grant for Playwriting, the 2004 PEN/Laura Pels Award for Drama, as well as fellowships from the Lucille Lortel Foundation, Manhattan Theatre Club, New Dramatists and New York Foundation for the Arts. She is a graduate of Brown University and the Yale School of Drama, where she is currently a visiting lecturer. She is a co-founder and producer at Market Road Films LLC, a film production company. 

Steven Anthony Jones has worked professionally on stage, television and film. He is Artistic Director at San Francisco's Lorraine Hansberry Theatre. For 22 years, he was a core company actor at American Conservatory Theater where he acted, directed and taught. In 1981, he originated the role of Private Wilkie in A Soldier's Play at the Negro Ensemble Company in New York. 

All proceeds benefit PlayGround and its award-winning new play incubator programs. Since 1994, PlayGround has nurtured more than 185 Bay Area playwrights, supporting the development of over 650 original short plays and 48 new full-length plays. PlayGround alumni have gone on to win both local and national honors for their short and full-length work, including recognition at the Humana Festival, Sundance Festival, New York International Fringe Festival, Bay Area Playwrights Festival, Aurora Theatre Company’s Global Age Project, and Samuel French Off-Off Broadway Short Play Festival, among others; PlayGround’s latest co-production, Katie May’s Manic Pixie Dream Girl, is running at the A.C.T. Costume Shop through February 17, supported in part through funds from the 2012 Gala. This event serves to recognize and support the ongoing efforts of these theatre artists. 

Event:             2013 PlayGround Benefit & Awards Night with Lynn Nottage, Steven Anthony Jones, and Jonathan Moscone

Date/Time:      Monday, April 1, 2013 / 6:00pm-9:30pm

Location:         American Conservatory Theater, 415 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA

Tickets:          Host Table of 10 - $10,000
Premium* Table of 10 - $5,000
Benefit Table of 10 - $3,000
Host Individual Ticket - $1,000
Premium* Individual Ticket - $500
Benefit Individual Ticket - $300
* Premium tables and premium individual tickets include priority seating
nearest our guests-of-honor and listing as part of the benefit honorary committee.

For more information, call (415) 992-6677, or visit


  1. Thank you very much for the information. We already bought 2 Benefit Tickets, its worth it.


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.